Pure Inspiration ~ Paula Fuga & Co. ~ Singing the Truth

Posted on September 12, 2007. Filed under: Big Island Hawaii Events, Community Up-Building, Hawaiian Goddess Energy |

The amount of estrogen in the room was intoxicating 🙂 Bravo to the brave men that were there representing the testosterone contingent! A special shout-out to the 3 men that were dancing with the 50 women grooving to Paula, as she crooned with her reggae band until 10:15 pm.

I got there a bit late with my crew, Emily, Talia, Lulie and Isaiah. Climbing PoeTree, a conscious spokenword duo from Brooklyn, comprised to hottie girls Alixa and Naima (and I mean DAMN hot) were already performing when we got in the door. Due to rain the event was moved indoors.

We all gravitated toward the “front row” (standing room only), plopped our asses down and got a serious mental, spiritual and physical work-over as these girls articulated profound, moving Truth. Showcasing awesome stage presence, these girls were shredding our mental notions and concepts, while reminding us of our enormous blessing to live here in Hawaii, Paradise. I thought to myself – these chicks have a paradise of artistic expression inside themselves! Perhaps that’s one effect of living on a street with only 5 trees – one develops the capacity for a new world from within.

A reminder to all to be Thankful you live in Hawaii, don’t become complacent, use the blessing of constant communion with nature to inspire yourselves. Reach out to your brothers and sisters around the world and be a part of the revolution now.

Check out Climbing PoeTree at http://www.myspace.com/climbingpoetree or www.climbingpoetree.com

Next we were treated to Sparlha Swa, also from Brooklyn, singing with a voice like the deepest, richest, tastiest chocolate bar you ever had.  Gorgeous woman.  While she has her own unique sound and voice, I’m sure she’s already experienced being compared to India Arie.  Her songs were deep, soulful, thoughtful, a real treat.  I thought it’d be nice to have her as my mother, singing  me the sweetest lullabies ever.  I knew I’d want to listen to her again and again, so I bought her CD.

Sparlha Swa can be found online @  http://www.myspace.com/sparlhaswa

Paula, in a beautiful pale yellow dress designed by Kealopiko Designs, looked like a Hawaiian Goddess, a True Queen.  And she rocked it.  She’s got  an incredible voice, I wanna compare her strength to Aretha Franklin, though the style of music is different.

For me personally, it was an emotional night.  I laughed, I cried, I danced to the rhythm of the high-hat.   I left feeling uplifted, inspired and eternally grateful to the awesomeness of Paula Fuga and the Lilikoi Foundation.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...